You are here

Athletics

Statement of Philosophy
Bishop McNamara High School strives to maintain a proud tradition in athletics. We expect our athletes, coaches and fans to represent the student body and the Bishop McNamara community by displaying the highest standards of sportsmanship and self-discipline. The Athletic Department at Bishop McNamara seeks to educate the whole person, not just the athlete. As an extension of the classroom, athletics at Bishop McNamara seeks to instill Christian values on the playing fields, in the classroom and the community.

 

Athletic Program
Bishop McNamara competes in the highly competitive Washington Catholic Athletic Conference at the Varsity, Junior Varsity and Freshmen (boys basketball only) levels in the following sports:

Fall Winter Spring
Football
Men's Basketball
Baseball
Women's Tennis Women's Basketball Softball
Volleyball Swimming Men's Tennis
Cross Country Wrestling Men's Lacrosse
Women's Soccer Cheerleading Women's Lacrosse
Men's Soccer Indoor Track and Field Track and Field
Cheerleading Dance Golf
Dance    
 
Contact Information    
Athletic Director: Anthony Johnson 301.735.8401 ext 103 anthony.johnson@bmhs.org
Asst. Athletic Director: Martin Keithline 301.735.8401 ext 121 martin.keithline@bmhs.org
Asst. Athletic Director: Keith Goganious 301.735.8401 ext 106 keith.goganious@bmhs.org
Head Athletic Trainer: Jessica Nash 301.735.8401 ext 105 jessica.nash@bmhs.org
Asst. Athletic Trainer: Stephanie Tong 301.735.8401 ext 276 stephanie.tong@bmhs.org
 
Coaches:    
Football Keith Goganious keith.goganious@bmhs.org
Men's Soccer Luigi DeGennarro luigi.degennaro@bmhs.org
Women's Soccer Edgar Rauch edgar.rauch@bmhs.org
Tennis Ronald Jackson ronald.jackson@bmhs.org
Cross Country/Track Keith Chapman keith.chapman@bmhs.org
Volleyball Kamisha Kellam kamisha.kellam@bmhs.org
Cheerleading Dawnica Green dawnica.green@bmhs.org
Women's Basketball Frank Oliver, Jr. frank.oliver@bmhs.org
Men's Basketball Marty Keithline martin.keithline@bmhs.org
Wrestling Paul Wicks paul.wicks@bmhs.org
Swimming Francisco Leonard francisco.leonard@bmhs.org
Softball Angela Diehlmann angela.diehlmann@bmhs.org
Baseball Larry Prange larry.prange@bmhs.org
Women's Lacrosse Sydney Satchell sydney.satchell@bmhs.org
Men's Lacrosse Mike Baccala michael.baccala@bmhs.org
Golf Rodney Watts rodney.watts@bmhs.org

 


Related News

McNamara Mustangs Football: Ready for New Season!

With football camp coming to a close and the squad ready to tackle the new season, Coach Keith Goganious is excited and poised for the second season here at Bishop McNamara High School. With lots of new talent coming in this summer, Coach G has worked his own program with the returning players and the fresh recruits.

Read more on opening of the football season for the Mustangs at 2014 Camp Countdown: McNamara Mustangs.

Athletic Portal: All BMHS Athletes Must Register

We have an exciting new program through the Athletic Department! The ATS online portal will provide an easier method of submitting medical documents, communicating with the Athletic Training Staff, and keeping track of your Student-Athletes daily progress through injuries.

Each student will be required to have an account through the website below. The account will be interactive with the Athletic Training Staff, Parents, Coaches, and some teachers. Please follow the directions below to set-up an account for each of your Student-Athletes.

Ashton White '15: Commits to Notre Dame Irish

Senior Ashton White has verbally committed to the University of Notre Dame Fighting Irish for 2015. Read about his journey to this commitment in an article of July 18, 2014 entitled Winding road molds White by Pete Sampson on IrishIllustrated.com.

2014 All-Gazette First Team Awards for Varsity Softball

Laurie Irons, a Bishop McNamara Sophomore and pitcher for the Varsity Softball team, was selected to be a member of the 2014 All-Gazette First Team.  Laurie tallied 153 strikeouts with less than 10 walks all season to keep the young varsity team competitive.  Congratulations, Laurie.

Alumni Seeking Ways to Give Back to the Community

Both Jerome Couplin '09 and Marcus Pilgrim '10 were recently featured on Comcast SportsNet for their work giving back in their community. Jerome and Marcus expressed how thankful they are for the many opportunities and the wonderful role models they had at Bishop McNamara. On July 19th, Marcus, Jerome, and another former BMHS teammate and NFL player, Brandon Coleman '10, donated their time to work with kids at a free Football Camp here at Bishop McNamara. Great job, gentlemen. BMHS thanks you for all you do.

Enjoy the video of the interview.

BMHS Baseball Wins Big over No. 9 DeMatha

Bishop McNamara Baseball, down by 11, scores 12 runs in the bottom of the sixth, held on in the seventh to win big over DeMatha. Congratulations, Mustangs!

For the full story, go to Baseball: McNamara scores 12 runs in one inning to topple No. 9 DeMatha.

Alfred "Baby J" Bannister '14 All-Met Wrestler of the Year

Bishop McNamara senior, Alfred "Baby J" Bannister has been named The Washington Post Wrestler of the Year. Baby J was ranked 4th nationally, three-time All-Met, four-time Maryland State Champion, two-time Beast of the East, and four-time WCAC Champion . Congratulations, Alfred, on a great year and high school career. The best of luck at the University of Maryland!

For the full story, go to 2013-14 Winter All-Met WRESTLING: Alfred Bannister

Alfred Bannister - Among Nations Best Wrestler

Senior Alfred "Baby J" Bannister has just won his fourth straight Maryland State title, as well as being named the Maryland Independent Schools Championships Outstanding Wrestler. Baby J, the winningest high school wrestler in Maryland history.

Congratulations, Baby J. Below is some of the latest media on Alfred.

Sports Illustrated Faces in the Crowd 

2014 Spring Track and Field

Sign up for the 2014 Spring Track and Field season will be from Monday February 10th and end on Tuesday February 25th. Sign up will be in the Fine Arts Gym between 4:00 pm and 6:30 pm. Please locate head coach Keith Chapman. Contact information is 301-442-2033 (cell), keithchapman25@aol.com or keith.chapman@bmhs.org.