You are here

Athletics

Statement of Philosophy
Bishop McNamara High School strives to maintain a proud tradition in athletics. We expect our athletes, coaches and fans to represent the student body and the Bishop McNamara community by displaying the highest standards of sportsmanship and self-discipline. The Athletic Department at Bishop McNamara seeks to educate the whole person, not just the athlete. As an extension of the classroom, athletics at Bishop McNamara seeks to instill Christian values on the playing fields, in the classroom and the community.

 

Athletic Program
Bishop McNamara competes in the highly competitive Washington Catholic Athletic Conference at the Varsity, Junior Varsity and Freshmen (boys basketball only) levels in the following sports:

Fall Winter Spring
Football
Men's Basketball
Baseball
Women's Tennis Women's Basketball Softball
Volleyball Swimming Men's Tennis
Cross Country Wrestling Men's Lacrosse
Women's Soccer Cheerleading Women's Lacrosse
Men's Soccer Indoor Track and Field Track and Field
Cheerleading Dance Golf
Dance    
 
Contact Information    
Athletic Director: Anthony Johnson 301.735.8401 ext 103 anthony.johnson@bmhs.org
Asst. Athletic Director: Martin Keithline 301.735.8401 ext 121 martin.keithline@bmhs.org
Asst. Athletic Director: Keith Goganious 301.735.8401 ext 106 keith.goganious@bmhs.org
Head Athletic Trainer: Jessica Nash 301.735.8401 ext 105 jessica.nash@bmhs.org
Asst. Athletic Trainer: Stephanie Tong 301.735.8401 ext 276 stephanie.tong@bmhs.org
 
Coaches:    
Football Keith Goganious keith.goganious@bmhs.org
Men's Soccer Luigi DeGennarro luigi.degennaro@bmhs.org
Women's Soccer Edgar Rauch edgar.rauch@bmhs.org
Tennis Ronald Jackson ronald.jackson@bmhs.org
Cross Country/Track Keith Chapman keith.chapman@bmhs.org
Volleyball Kamisha Kellam kamisha.kellam@bmhs.org
Cheerleading Dawnica Green dawnica.green@bmhs.org
Women's Basketball Frank Oliver, Jr. frank.oliver@bmhs.org
Men's Basketball Marty Keithline martin.keithline@bmhs.org
Wrestling Paul Wicks paul.wicks@bmhs.org
Swimming Francisco Leonard francisco.leonard@bmhs.org
Softball Angela Diehlmann angela.diehlmann@bmhs.org
Baseball Larry Prange larry.prange@bmhs.org
Women's Lacrosse Sydney Satchell sydney.satchell@bmhs.org
Men's Lacrosse Mike Baccala michael.baccala@bmhs.org
Golf Rodney Watts rodney.watts@bmhs.org

 


Related News

Men's Soccer Workouts for the Summer

Men's soccer workouts take place on Tuesdays and Thursdays 3:30-4:30pm except for Thursday June 26.  If you are interested in men's soccer, please attend.   If you have any questions, please contact head soccer coach, Luigi DeGennaro or Athletic Director Tony Johnson at Anthony.Johnson@bmhs.org.

Athletic Portal: All BMHS Athletes to Register by August 1.

We have an exciting new program through the Athletic Department! The ATS online portal will provide an easier method of submitting medical documents, communicating with the Athletic Training Staff, and keeping track of your Student-Athletes daily progress through injuries.

Each student will be required to have an account through the website below by August 1. The account will be interactive with the Athletic Training Staff, Parents, Coaches, and some teachers. Please follow the directions below to set-up an account for each of your Student-Athletes.

BMHS Students Sign National Letters of Intent with Colleges

Congratulations to our most recent Bishop McNamara students (Class of 2014) to sign their National Letters of Intent with colleges and universities of their choice. They are:
 
Tillan Brooks: Frostburg State University, Football
Mary Cavanagh: Alderson Broaddus University, Lacrosse
Barbara McDowell: Notre Dame of Maryland University, Volleyball
Ashanti Price: Lincoln University, Volleyball

Volleyball Scholarships for Women's Varsity Players

May 21, 2014 was signing day for two Bishop McNamara High School senior volleyball players. Ashanti Price '14 and Bobbi McDowell '14 have earned scholarships to play at Lincoln University and Notre Dame of Maryland respectively.  Congratulations to our Varsity Volleyball Women!

Track & Field and Cross Country Summer Workouts

We have some reminders for the Track & Field and Cross Country teams for Incoming Freshmen and Current Student-Athletes. Summer Track & Field/Cross Country workouts start on Monday June 16 with days and times as follows: Mondays, Tuesdays (MANDATORY), Wednesdays, and Thursdays from 5:30 pm to 8:00 pm. We will also workout every other Saturday from 10:30 am to 1:00 pm. We will also be running in the mornings from 6:00 am to 7:30 am at  the PG Sports Complex.

Dave Shultz High School Excellence Award for Brothers Bannister

Both Andrew Bannister '09 and Alfred Bannister '14 have been wrestlling winners at Bishop McNamara. With National, Maryland State, Regional and WCAC Awards under their belt, they both have now earned the Dave Schultz High School Excellence Award for the state of Maryland by the National Wrestling Hall of Fame. 

Mayowa Alli '10: Bucknell Grad plays soccer in Denmark

Mayowa Alli '10 is going to Denmark to play soccer for Vejle Boldklub, a second division team in the Danish League.  He'll be there until the conclusion of the soccer season in early July.  He is hoping for a full contract from the club.  Mayowa, who graduated from Bucknell in May 2014 with a Political Science degree, earned First Team All-Patriot League, First Team All-Region, and Third Team All-American.  As a soccer player for BMHS, Mayowa was awarded the WCAC Player of the Year and the All Gazette Player of the Year.

Good luck, Mayowa.

Jerome Couplin '09: next NFL Superhero?

College of William & Mary senior and Bishop McNamara High School graduate of 2009, Jerome Couplin, was called the "next NFL superhero" by Forbes.com. For the full article, go to Here Comes the Next NFL Superhero.