You are here

Student Life

Mr. Clark with the Mighty Mac
Student Life at BMHS is always something to cheer about

Bishop McNamara sponsors more than 53 clubs and organizations for students. Extra-curricular activities provide students with opportunities to lead, participate and serve Bishop McNamara, area elementary schools, and community organizations. For information on any of the clubs or organizations, please contact Ms. Angela De Leonibus, Director of Student Life. 



Clubs and Club Moderators for 2013-14
Organization/Club Moderator Contact

Senior Class Ms. Keller Laura.Keller@bmhs.org
Junior Class Ms. Graham Ashley.Graham@bmhs.org
Sophomore Class Mr. Holloman Darrell.Holloman@bmhs.org
Freshman Class Mr. Hipkins Martin.Hipkins@bmhs.org
ACE Mentoring Club Mr. Shin Victor.Shin@bmhs.org
Acoustic Music Club Mr. Ungaro Roberto.Ungaro@bmhs.org
Adventure Sports Club Mr. Smith Randal.Smith@bmhs.org
Anime Culture Club Mrs. Heneghan Kathryn.Heneghan@bmhs.org
Aviation Club Mr. London George.London@bmhs.org
Black Cultural Alliance Ms. Sutton Rhoda.Sutton@bmhs.org
Bowling Club Mr. Holloman Ashley.Graham@bmhs.org
Chess Team Mr. J. Clark Jason.Clark@bmhs.org
Cooking Club Mrs. Corley Linda.Corley@bmhs.org
Cyber Security Club Mr. Hardy Wiliam.Hardy@bmhs.org
Cycling Club Mr. Cuellar Hector.Cuellar@bmhs.org
Engineering & Technology Club Mr. Ogunsile Oluwatosin.Ogunsile@bmhs.org
Euestrian Club Ms. Kostelnik Kelly.Kostelnik@bmhs.org
F.A.C.E. Ms. Treichel Clare.Treichel@bmhs.org
Fashion Club Mr. Holloman Darrell.Holloman@bmhs.org
Fitness Club Mr. Jones & Mr. Southworth Michael.Jones@bmhs.org  or  Jeffrey.Southworth@bmhs.org
French Club Ms. Apollonaires Paola.Apolinares@bmhs.org
Frontiers of Justice Mr. Monahan James.Monahan@bmhs.org
Go Club Mr. Shryock Charles.Shryock@bmhs.org
International Thespian Society Troupe Mrs. Mitchell-Donahue Mary.MitchellDonahue@bmhs.org
Intramurals Mr. Perham Donald.Perham@bmhs.org
It's Academic Mr. Fox-Boyd Michael.FoxBoyd@bmhs.org
L.I.F.T. Ms. Bubolz Tonya.Bubolz@bmhs.org
Martial Arts Club Mr. Shryock Charles.Shryock@bmhs.org
Mock Trial Mrs. C. Clark Charmayne.Clark@bmhs.org
Moot Court Mr. Hipkins Martin.Hipkins@bmhs.org
Moreau Scholar Society Mr. Buckley Matthew.Buckley@bmhs.org
Mu Alpha Theta Mr. Nolte Robert.Nolte@bmhs.org
National English Honor Society Mr. Buckley & Ms. Wolfe Matthew.Buckley@bmhs.org or Patrice.Wolfe@bmhs.org
National Honor Society Mrs. Corley Linda.Corley@bmhs.org
Pep Band Mrs. Hardy Francine.Hardy@bmhs.org
Poetic Justice (Literary Magazine) Mr. Vazzana Greg.Vazzana@bmhs.org
Pro-Life Club/Pure Love Club Mr. McClain Justin.McClain@bmhs.org
Science & Ecology Explorers (SEE) Mrs. Steeger Jan.Steeger@bmhs.org
Science National Honor Society Ms. Kazimer Denise.Kazimer@bmhs.org
SCUBA Club (Jr. Scientists in the Sea) Mr. J. Clark Jason.Clark@bmhs.org
Shakespeare Festival Mr. Shryock  Charles.Shryock@bmhs.org
Spanish Club Mr. Ungaro Roberto.Ungaro@bmhs.org
Step Team Mr. Leonard & Ms. Graham Francisco.Leonard@bmhs.org or Ashley.Graham@bmhs.org
Student Council Ms. De Leonibus Angela.DeLeonibus@bmhs.org  
Tech Crew Mr. DiSalvo Thomas.DiSalvo@bmhs.org  
Teens in Action Mrs. Pezzuto & Ms. Wroblewski Rosemary.Pezzuto@bmhs.org or Anastasia.Wroblewski@bmhs.org  
Theatre Mrs. Mitchell-Donahue Mary.MitchellDonahue@bmhs.org  
Tri-M Music Honor Society Mrs. Hardy Francine.Hardy@bmhs.org  
WMAC/Video Production Ms. Keller  Laura.Keller@bmhs.org  
Yearbook  Ms. Dado Nicole.Dado@bmhs.org  
Yoga Club Mrs. Mendiola Susanne.Mendiola@bmhs.org  
Youth for Christ Ms. Imes de Duclos Mindi.ImesdeDuclos@bmhs.org  
Talent Show Ms. Keller Laura.Keller@bmhs.org  
Honor Council Mr. Molchan Geoffrey.Molchan@bmhs.org  

 

 


Related News

Student Parking Application Now Available Online

The BMHS Student Parking Application is now available here online. You will need to complete the application provided with all information requested, attach a $100 check payable to Bishop McNamara High School, and submit to the Attendance Office during Orientation/Book Day, August 27, 2014.  Come prepared to verify your driver's license number. Go to Student Parking Applications for application and regulations.

2014 All-Gazette First Team Awards for Varsity Softball

Laurie Irons, a Bishop McNamara Sophomore and pitcher for the Varsity Softball team, was selected to be a member of the 2014 All-Gazette First Team.  Laurie tallied 153 strikeouts with less than 10 walks all season to keep the young varsity team competitive.  Congratulations, Laurie.

McNews for July is now Online

The July McNews 2014 is now online. Go to McNews Online to view or print your copy.

The McNews is Bishop McNamara High School's Family Newsletter and is published monthly, emailed to all families and placed here on the website by the 5th of every month. Files may be viewed or downloaded and printed. If you would like to be added to the email list for McNews, please send your email to SchoolReach@bmhs.org.

Two Sophomores Graduate HOBY Leadership

Sophomores Ileana Fenwick and Katelyn Bailey attended the Hugh O'Brian Youth (HOBY) Maryland Leadership Seminar at Mount St. Mary's University over the Memorial Day weekend.  HOBY Maryland has graduated outstanding leaders since 1979, and annually serves close to 200 high school sophomores throughout Maryland at its four day seminar held each spring. 

During the seminar there were panels on topics including entrepreneurship, diversity, education, volunteerism, and the media. Each panel had 3-5 speakers who are leaders and experts in that particular topic. 

Volleyball Scholarships for Women's Varsity Players

May 21, 2014 was signing day for two Bishop McNamara High School senior volleyball players. Ashanti Price '14 and Bobbi McDowell '14 have earned scholarships to play at Lincoln University and Notre Dame of Maryland respectively.  Congratulations to our Varsity Volleyball Women!

Two BMHS Sophomores Receive Full Scholarships to AdCamp

Sophomores Brieanna Bowman and Alonzo Farley have been accepted to AdCamp of the American Advertising Federation, a summer enrichment program that teaches students about an advertising college major, careers in advertising and what it takes to market different products and services to consumers. Both students received full scholarships to this competitive, unique and exciting program.

According to the American Advertising Federation, AdCamp is more than just classroom lectures:

Five Students Receive ACE Scholarships

Five Bishop McNamara Seniors were awarded with $1,500 scholarships through their participation with the ACE Mentoring Club.  Congratulations go to John-Elias Baldwin '14, Anthony Diehlmann '14, Gabrielle Enguillado '14, Si Eun Jung '14, and Alexander Scott '14.  The students were presented with their checks at a scholarship breakfast at the Willard Hotel in Washington, DC.  
 
Mr. Philip Artin, father of David '08 and Daniel '10, and Mr. Dwayne Somerville '84 were also in attendance still supporting that Mustang Pride!
 

Fine Arts Students Receive Awards for Excellence at Kennedy Center

Several Bishop McNamara High School students were selected in recognition of artistic excellence by The National Society of Arts and Letters Excellence in the Arts Program: Z'ane Davis-Smith '15, Ceandria Mars '15, Kevin Glotfelty '15, and Rochell Ann Yacat '15.  They were honored and received their awards and certificates on Saturday, May 3, 2014 at a ceremony at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.  Our congratulations to them all!

2014 National Society of Arts and Letters, Washington DC Chapter Award for Excellence in the Arts

BMHS Students Sweep Rotary Young American Scholarships

Bishop McNamara High School students of the Class of 2014, Kimberly Weaver, Elizabeth Jolly and Ashleigh Williams, were honored as Rotary Club Young American Scholarship award winners at the Rotary Club of Upper Marlboro, Lake Presidential Golf Club, Upper Marlboro, Maryland.

BMHS Baseball Wins Big over No. 9 DeMatha

Bishop McNamara Baseball, down by 11, scores 12 runs in the bottom of the sixth, held on in the seventh to win big over DeMatha. Congratulations, Mustangs!

For the full story, go to Baseball: McNamara scores 12 runs in one inning to topple No. 9 DeMatha.