You are here

Student Life

Mr. Clark with the Mighty Mac
Student Life at BMHS is always something to cheer about

Bishop McNamara sponsors more than 53 clubs and organizations for students. Extra-curricular activities provide students with opportunities to lead, participate and serve Bishop McNamara, area elementary schools, and community organizations. For information on any of the clubs or organizations, please contact Ms. Angela De Leonibus, Director of Student Life. 



Clubs and Club Moderators for 2013-14
Organization/Club Moderator Contact

Senior Class Ms. Keller Laura.Keller@bmhs.org
Junior Class Ms. Graham Ashley.Graham@bmhs.org
Sophomore Class Mr. Holloman Darrell.Holloman@bmhs.org
Freshman Class Mr. Hipkins Martin.Hipkins@bmhs.org
ACE Mentoring Club Mr. Shin Victor.Shin@bmhs.org
Acoustic Music Club Mr. Ungaro Roberto.Ungaro@bmhs.org
Adventure Sports Club Mr. Smith Randal.Smith@bmhs.org
Anime Culture Club Mrs. Heneghan Kathryn.Heneghan@bmhs.org
Aviation Club Mr. London George.London@bmhs.org
Black Cultural Alliance Ms. Sutton Rhoda.Sutton@bmhs.org
Bowling Club Mr. Holloman Ashley.Graham@bmhs.org
Chess Team Mr. J. Clark Jason.Clark@bmhs.org
Cooking Club Mrs. Corley Linda.Corley@bmhs.org
Cyber Security Club Mr. Hardy Wiliam.Hardy@bmhs.org
Cycling Club Mr. Cuellar Hector.Cuellar@bmhs.org
Engineering & Technology Club Mr. Ogunsile Oluwatosin.Ogunsile@bmhs.org
Euestrian Club Ms. Kostelnik Kelly.Kostelnik@bmhs.org
F.A.C.E. Ms. Treichel Clare.Treichel@bmhs.org
Fashion Club Mr. Holloman Darrell.Holloman@bmhs.org
Fitness Club Mr. Jones & Mr. Southworth Michael.Jones@bmhs.org  or  Jeffrey.Southworth@bmhs.org
French Club Ms. Apollonaires Paola.Apolinares@bmhs.org
Frontiers of Justice Mr. Monahan James.Monahan@bmhs.org
Go Club Mr. Shryock Charles.Shryock@bmhs.org
International Thespian Society Troupe Mrs. Mitchell-Donahue Mary.MitchellDonahue@bmhs.org
Intramurals Mr. Perham Donald.Perham@bmhs.org
It's Academic Mr. Fox-Boyd Michael.FoxBoyd@bmhs.org
L.I.F.T. Ms. Bubolz Tonya.Bubolz@bmhs.org
Martial Arts Club Mr. Shryock Charles.Shryock@bmhs.org
Mock Trial Mrs. C. Clark Charmayne.Clark@bmhs.org
Moot Court Mr. Hipkins Martin.Hipkins@bmhs.org
Moreau Scholar Society Mr. Buckley Matthew.Buckley@bmhs.org
Mu Alpha Theta Mr. Nolte Robert.Nolte@bmhs.org
National English Honor Society Mr. Buckley & Ms. Wolfe Matthew.Buckley@bmhs.org or Patrice.Wolfe@bmhs.org
National Honor Society Mrs. Corley Linda.Corley@bmhs.org
Pep Band Mrs. Hardy Francine.Hardy@bmhs.org
Poetic Justice (Literary Magazine) Mr. Vazzana Greg.Vazzana@bmhs.org
Pro-Life Club/Pure Love Club Mr. McClain Justin.McClain@bmhs.org
Science & Ecology Explorers (SEE) Mrs. Steeger Jan.Steeger@bmhs.org
Science National Honor Society Ms. Kazimer Denise.Kazimer@bmhs.org
SCUBA Club (Jr. Scientists in the Sea) Mr. J. Clark Jason.Clark@bmhs.org
Shakespeare Festival Mr. Shryock  Charles.Shryock@bmhs.org
Spanish Club Mr. Ungaro Roberto.Ungaro@bmhs.org
Step Team Mr. Leonard & Ms. Graham Francisco.Leonard@bmhs.org or Ashley.Graham@bmhs.org
Student Council Ms. De Leonibus Angela.DeLeonibus@bmhs.org  
Tech Crew Mr. DiSalvo Thomas.DiSalvo@bmhs.org  
Teens in Action Mrs. Pezzuto & Ms. Wroblewski Rosemary.Pezzuto@bmhs.org or Anastasia.Wroblewski@bmhs.org  
Theatre Mrs. Mitchell-Donahue Mary.MitchellDonahue@bmhs.org  
Tri-M Music Honor Society Mrs. Hardy Francine.Hardy@bmhs.org  
WMAC/Video Production Ms. Keller  Laura.Keller@bmhs.org  
Yearbook  Ms. Dado Nicole.Dado@bmhs.org  
Yoga Club Mrs. Mendiola Susanne.Mendiola@bmhs.org  
Youth for Christ Ms. Imes de Duclos Mindi.ImesdeDuclos@bmhs.org  
Talent Show Ms. Keller Laura.Keller@bmhs.org  
Honor Council Mr. Molchan Geoffrey.Molchan@bmhs.org  

 

 


Related News

McNews for August is now Online

The August McNews 2014 is now online. Go to McNews Online to view or print your copy.

The McNews is Bishop McNamara High School's Family Newsletter and is published monthly, emailed to all families and placed here on the website by the 5th of every month. Files may be viewed or downloaded and printed. If you would like to be added to the email list for McNews, please send your email to SchoolReach@bmhs.org.

2014 All-Gazette First Team Awards for Varsity Softball

Laurie Irons, a Bishop McNamara Sophomore and pitcher for the Varsity Softball team, was selected to be a member of the 2014 All-Gazette First Team.  Laurie tallied 153 strikeouts with less than 10 walks all season to keep the young varsity team competitive.  Congratulations, Laurie.

Two Sophomores Graduate HOBY Leadership

Sophomores Ileana Fenwick and Katelyn Bailey attended the Hugh O'Brian Youth (HOBY) Maryland Leadership Seminar at Mount St. Mary's University over the Memorial Day weekend.  HOBY Maryland has graduated outstanding leaders since 1979, and annually serves close to 200 high school sophomores throughout Maryland at its four day seminar held each spring. 

During the seminar there were panels on topics including entrepreneurship, diversity, education, volunteerism, and the media. Each panel had 3-5 speakers who are leaders and experts in that particular topic. 

BMHS Baseball Wins Big over No. 9 DeMatha

Bishop McNamara Baseball, down by 11, scores 12 runs in the bottom of the sixth, held on in the seventh to win big over DeMatha. Congratulations, Mustangs!

For the full story, go to Baseball: McNamara scores 12 runs in one inning to topple No. 9 DeMatha.

Alfred "Baby J" Bannister '14 All-Met Wrestler of the Year

Bishop McNamara senior, Alfred "Baby J" Bannister has been named The Washington Post Wrestler of the Year. Baby J was ranked 4th nationally, three-time All-Met, four-time Maryland State Champion, two-time Beast of the East, and four-time WCAC Champion . Congratulations, Alfred, on a great year and high school career. The best of luck at the University of Maryland!

For the full story, go to 2013-14 Winter All-Met WRESTLING: Alfred Bannister

2 McNamara Students Participate in the RYLA Conference

Juniors Kevin Glotfelty and Breana Ross attended the Rotary Youth Leadership Awards (RYLA) Conference over the President's Day weekend.  The Upper Marlboro Rotary Club sponsored the two student leaders.  Both students were invited to a breakfast hosted by the Upper Marlboro Rotary Club to speak about their experiences with RYLA.

Alfred Bannister - Among Nations Best Wrestler

Senior Alfred "Baby J" Bannister has just won his fourth straight Maryland State title, as well as being named the Maryland Independent Schools Championships Outstanding Wrestler. Baby J, the winningest high school wrestler in Maryland history.

Congratulations, Baby J. Below is some of the latest media on Alfred.

Sports Illustrated Faces in the Crowd 

Damian Prince '14 to be a Terp!

Bishop McNamara senior, Damian Prince, has announced that he will be a University of Maryland Terp in the fall! At a press conference in front of a national audience on ESPN on National Signing Day, Damian made his decision to go to Maryland and the Big Ten this morning at 10:35 am. Congratulations to Damian and to the Maryland Terps for their success at signing him. He will be an asset to the team.

For the live announcement and interview by ESPN, go to Damien Prince Stays With Maryland

Janine Corley '16 Reserve Grand Champion

The Bishop McNamara Equestrian Team competed in a horse show in Darnestown, Maryland this weekend and Janine Corley '16  received two first places and a third place making her Reserve Grand Champion of her division. The Equestrian team has competed in 4 shows so far this year, coming away with this award in two events. Katie Ardovini '16  was awarded Reserve Grand Champion in her division at an earlier show this year.

Our congratulations to both Janine and Katie and the entire Equestrian Team.

2 McNamara Students Selected to Participate in Youth Leadership Greater Washington

Congratulations to Maya Fisher '16 and Sierra Oates '17 to their selections as members of the 2014 Class of the Youth Leadership Greater Washington Program.  Each year Leadership Greater Washington selects proven or aspiring youth leaders from diverse backgrounds and provides them with the opportunity to learn from some of the area's most important decision makers to study various topics such as diversity, the arts, health, public service and community service.